York Region District School Board Celebrates 16 Outstanding Students

Sixteen outstanding students, representative of approximately 128,000 in the York Region District School Board, were honoured at the Board's annual Celebrating Student Success dinner and awards ceremony on April 26.

“Education is truly a partnership of schools, families and community,” said Ron Lynn, Chair of the Board. “We celebrate the achievements of this year’s recipients, as well as the efforts of educators and family members across York Region who support students everyday with their classwork, homework, projects and community involvement.”

“The definition of success is unique for each individual student. These 16 students have in common a commitment to excellence that has helped them achieve success at school and in their personal growth," said Scott Yake, Director of Education (Interim). “Their accomplishments are inspiring for their classmates, teachers and families.”

A video and summary of each students’ accomplishments is available on the Board website.

The 2023 Celebrating Student Success students are:




Anastasia Mouratidis   

King City SS

King City

Aijah DeLeon-Hurley

Markham Gateway PS   


Ainsley Smith

Sutton DHS


Aliyah Marinez

Huron Heights SS


Archana Shivraj

Boxwood PS


Aviad Omozusi

Bayview Hill ES

Richmond Hill  

Ezra Adesakin

Ross Doan PS

Richmond Hill 

Grayson Gurevich

Langstaff SS

Richmond Hill

Jay Taimish

Bayview SS

Richmond Hill 

Jenny Pei

Thornhill SS


Kristian Temelkovski

Keswick PS


Kylie Morgan

Huron Heights SS


Mahaara Bhimani

Bayview Hill ES

Richmond Hill  

Quinnton Hyde

Milliken Mills HS


Shakira Rodriguez

Emily Carr SS 


Yuli Rodriguez

Markham DHS


photo students

Photo and link to video

News Release