Schools Closed to Students

The Ministry of Education has announced that all schools will remain closed to students beginning April 19. Please do not send your child to school. Remote learning will continue during this closure.

Corporate Communications

Reporting to the Director of Education, Corporate Communications acts as the first line of contact between the Board and its many stakeholder groups.

The purpose of the group is to facilitate and support the exchange of clear, accurate information about Board issues and activities:

  1. among schools, employees, trustees, bargaining agents, school councils, parents, volunteers and other groups within the York Region education community

  2. between the Board and its stakeholder groups in the community at large.

Learn more about what’s happening in YRDSB

Tune In YRDSB is the Board's official podcast, and the first of its kind in Ontario.

School and Community Relations

  • Board website development and maintenance
  • Coordination of school websites
  • School newsletter inserts
  • Local event planning/support
  • Representing the Director's Office at school and community events
  • Internal conference, forum and meeting coordination
  • Communications training

Media Relations

  • News releases (writing / editing / distribution)
  • Respond and/or coordinate response to routine news media inquiries
  • Media advice/consultation for superintendents, principals, school administrators and specialists
  • Letters to the editor
  • Crisis communications
  • News conferences
  • Publicity
  • Media training

Corporate Communications

  • Board communications policy
  • Visual identity
  • Publishing standards
  • Internal and external communications
  • Advertising and promotion
  • Executive speech writing
  • Corporate event planning
  • Official protocol
  • Liaise with other jurisdictions

Issues Management

  • Incident reporting
  • Communications planning
  • Research/information sourcing
  • Issue notes/position papers
  • Coordinated calendar of events
  • Daily news clippings

If you would like more information or assistance in one of the activities listed above, please do not hesitate to contact any staff member from Corporate Communications:

The Education Centre - Aurora
60 Wellington Street West, Box 40
Aurora, ON L4G 3H2

Licinio Miguelo
Senior Manager
licinio.miguelo@yrdsb.ca
905-727-0022 ext. 2340

Christina Choo-Hum
Manager
christina.choo-hum@yrdsb.ca
905-727-0022 ext. 2527

Dawn Clayden
Assistant Manager
dawn.clayden@yrdsb.ca
905-727-0022 ext. 2913

Dale Brusselers
Communications Specialist
dale.brusselers@yrdsb.ca
905-727-0022 ext. 2521

Erin Bain
Communications Specialist
erin.bain@yrdsb.ca
905-727-0022 ext. 2520

Stephanie Luong
Web Portal and Communications Officer 
stephanie.luong@yrdsb.ca
905-727-0022 ext. 2041

Andrew Guida
Senior Videographer
andrew.guida@yrdsb.ca
905-727-0022 ext. 2554

Jamie Bennett
Communications Assistant
jamie.bennett@yrdsb.ca​ 
905-727-0022 ext. 2272